Fort Stockton Public Library

Loading palette preview Loading

Literature & Criticism


20th Century Poetry Collections - (Chadwyk-Healy/ProQuest) Twentieth-Century English Poetry offers online access to the poetry of some of the greatest writers of the twentieth century. It incorporates the works of 285 of the most widely studied poets of the British Isles and beyond, including over forty distinguished authors from The Faber Poetry Library. Authors include the established and canonical such as Yeats, Housman, Lawrence, Sassoon, Eliot, Plath, Ted Hughes and Seamus Heaney, popular and accessible figures such as Kipling, Betjeman and Wendy Cope, lesser known but important names like William Empson and W.S. Graham and, among prominent contemporaries, Simon Armitage, Eavan Boland and Carol Ann Duffy. Many of the major themes of 20th century writing -- nationality, politics, war, sexuality, religion and gender -- can be understood anew through this vast and representative collection.
Twentieth-Century American Poetry - This unparalleled collection includes 52,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets, including Adrienne Rich, Andrei Codrescu, Ezra Pound,
William Carlos Williams, Denise Levertov, Wallace Stevens, Langston Hughes, Lucille Clifton, and Cathy Song. The majority of the poems included are copyright works specially licensed from print publishers such as New Edition, City Lights Books, Houghton Mifflin, W. W. Norton and Yale University Press. The collection reflects the variety and dynamism of American poetic voices in this century of change: all major movements and schools are represented, form the traditionalism of Robert Frost to the modernism of H.D. (Hilda Doolittle), the confessional poetry of Anne Sexton to the proletarian poems of Muriel Rukeyser. The Imagists, Beat Poets, Harlem Renaissance, Black Mountain and Deep Image schools are all featured. In addition, many contemporary writers of the 1980s and 90s who have gained recognition through national poetry awards or inclusion within leading print anthologies, are also represented.
Contemporary Authors

Contemporary Authors provides complete biographical and bibliographical information on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors.

Contemporary Literary Criticism Contemporary Literary Criticism collects more than 35,000 critical essays on contemporary authors, with biographical, critical, principal works, and further study information.
Dictionary of Literary Biography Dictionary of Literary Biography provides nearly 10,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
Directory of Open Access Journals Provides indexing, abstracting, and free full text access for selected international scholarly journals in many subject areas, including agriculture and food science, biology, chemistry, health science, languages and literature, mathematics, physics, engineering, the arts, business, environmental science, history, law, political science, philosophy, religion, and social science. Coverage varies by title (updated continuously).
Literature Resource Center Providing immediate access to the most comprehensive and current online database on authors and their works, LRC includes biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combining Gale's most-used literary databases in a single online service, the Literature Resource Center covers more than 121,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers such as philosophers, filmmakers, and anthropologists.
WorldCat (the OCLC online union catalog) The world's most comprehensive bibliography, with more than 58 million bibliographic records representing over 400 languages and all types of materials ranging from stone tablets to electronic books. WorldCat is updated daily and is now easier to search than ever. Recent enhancements include the ability to search by Library of Congress or Dewey Decimal Classification numbers, and to limit searches by material types, audiences and material formats. WorldCat includes information from before 1,000 BC to the present with thousands of records containing evaluative content such as tables of contents, cover art, book summaries and notes about the authors. It uses the Library of Congress Subject Headings as its thesaurus.