Fort Stockton Public Library

Loading palette preview Loading

Homework Help


20th Century Poetry Collections - (Chadwyk-Healy/ProQuest) Twentieth-Century English Poetry offers online access to the poetry of some of the greatest writers of the twentieth century. It incorporates the works of 285 of the most widely studied poets of the British Isles and beyond, including over forty distinguished authors from The Faber Poetry Library. Authors include the established and canonical such as Yeats, Housman, Lawrence, Sassoon, Eliot, Plath, Ted Hughes and Seamus Heaney, popular and accessible figures such as Kipling, Betjeman and Wendy Cope, lesser known but important names like William Empson and W.S. Graham and, among prominent contemporaries, Simon Armitage, Eavan Boland and Carol Ann Duffy. Many of the major themes of 20th century writing -- nationality, politics, war, sexuality, religion and gender -- can be understood anew through this vast and representative collection.
Twentieth-Century American Poetry - This unparalleled collection includes 52,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets, including Adrienne Rich, Andrei Codrescu, Ezra Pound,
William Carlos Williams, Denise Levertov, Wallace Stevens, Langston Hughes, Lucille Clifton, and Cathy Song. The majority of the poems included are copyright works specially licensed from print publishers such as New Edition, City Lights Books, Houghton Mifflin, W. W. Norton and Yale University Press. The collection reflects the variety and dynamism of American poetic voices in this century of change: all major movements and schools are represented, form the traditionalism of Robert Frost to the modernism of H.D. (Hilda Doolittle), the confessional poetry of Anne Sexton to the proletarian poems of Muriel Rukeyser. The Imagists, Beat Poets, Harlem Renaissance, Black Mountain and Deep Image schools are all featured. In addition, many contemporary writers of the 1980s and 90s who have gained recognition through national poetry awards or inclusion within leading print anthologies, are also represented.
Academic Search Premier Contains indexing for 8,025 publications, with full text for more than 4,500 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. Academic Search Premier contains full text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology, etc.
Contemporary Authors

Contemporary Authors provides complete biographical and bibliographical information on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors.

Contemporary Literary Criticism Contemporary Literary Criticism collects more than 35,000 critical essays on contemporary authors, with biographical, critical, principal works, and further study information.
Dictionary of Literary Biography Dictionary of Literary Biography provides nearly 10,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
Directory of Open Access Journals Provides indexing, abstracting, and free full text access for selected international scholarly journals in many subject areas, including agriculture and food science, biology, chemistry, health science, languages and literature, mathematics, physics, engineering, the arts, business, environmental science, history, law, political science, philosophy, religion, and social science. Coverage varies by title (updated continuously).
Encyclopedia of Animals This extensive database provides students with thousands of easy-to-read entries about mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fish, dinosaurs and prehistoric animals. Each entry begins with a simple category breakdown of the animal including Kingdom, Class, Order, Genus & Species, and Geographical Locale as well as a detailed description. Many entries include colorful images.
Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas
Handbook of Texas The Handbook of Texas, provided by the Texas State Historical Association is a multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture. It comprises more than 23,000 articles on people, places, events, historical themes, institutions, and a host of other topic categories. The scope is broad and inclusive, designed to provide readers with concise, authoritative, and accessible articles that provide factual, nonpartisan accounts on virtually every aspect of Texas history and culture.
Kids Search Interface A search interface with a child-friendly, graphically-rich design that automatically searches across all applicable EBSCO databases simultaneously.
Literature Resource Center Providing immediate access to the most comprehensive and current online database on authors and their works, LRC includes biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combining Gale's most-used literary databases in a single online service, the Literature Resource Center covers more than 121,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers such as philosophers, filmmakers, and anthropologists.
MAS Ultra: School Edition Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database provides full text for more than 700 popular general interest and current events publications with information dating as far back as 1975 for key magazines. MAS Ultra – School Edition also provides more than 500 full text pamphlets, more than 350 full text reference books, 84,011 biographies, 83,472 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 192,999 photos, maps and flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
Middle Search Plus Provides full text for nearly 140 popular magazines for middle and jr. high school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,011 biographies, 83,472 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 192,999 photos, maps and flags. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.
Primary Search Provides full text for nearly 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.
Searchasaurus Searchasaurus is a colorful search interface for elementary and middle school students. Three EBSCO elementary and middle school databases (Primary Search, Middle Search®Plus and Book Collection: Nonfiction) can be accessed via Searchasaurus.
Student Research Center A search interface designed specifically for secondary school students according to their needs and search abilities. Users can easily pre-determine which content sources (e.g., Magazines, Newspapers, Biographies, Country Reports, Film & Video) will be included with their search or search databases through topic headings.
TOPICsearch This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today’s classrooms. TOPICsearch contains full text for over 102,800 articles from more than 2,500 diverse sources, including more than 1,550 full text periodicals.