Fort Stockton Public Library

Loading palette preview Loading

Health & Medical


Alt Health Watch This alternative health database provides full text for 180 publications in the collection, including full text for many peer-reviewed journals. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine dating back to 1990.
Consumer Health Complete (CHC) is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. This full text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc.
Directory of Open Access Journals Provides indexing, abstracting, and free full text access for selected international scholarly journals in many subject areas, including agriculture and food science, biology, chemistry, health science, languages and literature, mathematics, physics, engineering, the arts, business, environmental science, history, law, political science, philosophy, religion, and social science. Coverage varies by title (updated continuously).
Guide to Texas HMO Quality and Comparing Texas HMOs 2006  From the Office of Public Insurance Counsel.
Guide to Texas HMO Quality 2006 compares data on quality of care delivered by Texas HMOs.
Comparing Texas HMOs 2006 focuses on the satisfaction of members with their Texas HMOs. The report includes the results of a survey of HMO consumers.
Health Reference Center

Multi-source database that provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources. Integrates the full text and images of respected nursing, allied health and medical journals; consumer health magazines; newsletters; pamphlets; newspaper articles; topical interviews; and reference books.

Health Source - Consumer Edition This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition features searchable full text for nearly 150 journals. This database is updated on a daily basis.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. This database is updated on a daily basis.
MEDline Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Included are citations from Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, Index to Dental Literature, HISTLINE, SPACELINE, PREMEDLINE, AIDSLINE, BIOETHICSLINE, and HealthSTAR.
Natural & Alternative Treatments The database contains almost two hundred articles on medical conditions, presenting in an evidence-based manner the alternative medicine therapies proposed for use in their treatment. It also contains detailed, evidence-based information on herbs and supplements, functional foods, and other alternative therapies such as acupuncture and homeopathy. The evidence-based content has been developed and reviewed by a team of physicians and pharmacologists with the goal of providing consumers with reliable information.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This database provides nearly 575 full text publications, including nearly 550 peer-reviewed titles. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost