Fort Stockton Public Library

Loading palette preview Loading

General


Directory of Open Access Journals Provides indexing, abstracting, and free full text access for selected international scholarly journals in many subject areas, including agriculture and food science, biology, chemistry, health science, languages and literature, mathematics, physics, engineering, the arts, business, environmental science, history, law, political science, philosophy, religion, and social science. Coverage varies by title (updated continuously).
Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas
Handbook of Texas The Handbook of Texas, provided by the Texas State Historical Association is a multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture. It comprises more than 23,000 articles on people, places, events, historical themes, institutions, and a host of other topic categories. The scope is broad and inclusive, designed to provide readers with concise, authoritative, and accessible articles that provide factual, nonpartisan accounts on virtually every aspect of Texas history and culture.
InfoTrac Custom Newspapers Search a collection of over 100 sources from around the globe for full-text articles. Cover-to-cover coverage of USA Today, Austin-American Statesman from 1996, Washington Times from 1996, Houston Chronicle from 1996, The Financial Times from 1996, The Times (London) since 1986, and many more. Search articles by title, headline, date, author, section or other assigned fields. This database can be cross-searched with other Thomson Gale databases using our new PowerSearch functionality.
MasterFILE Premier Designed specifically for public libraries, MasterFILE(tm) Premier contains full text for 2,005 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text for more than 320 reference books, 84,074 biographies, 86,135 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 107,135 photos, maps & flags. MasterFILE Premier now offers PDF backfiles (as far back as 1975) for key publications including American Libraries, Foreign Affairs, History Today, Judaism, Library Journal, National Review, Saturday Evening Post, etc.
Military & Government Collection Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of these sites. The Military & Government Collection provides full text for nearly 400 journals and periodicals. The database also includes full text for 245 pamphlets and offers indexing and abstracts for more than 500 titles. Publications covered in this database include Air Force Comptroller, Army Reserve Magazine, Defence Studies, Global Security Review, JFQ: Joint Force Quarterly, Military Technology, National Review, Combat Edge, FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin, Foreign Affairs, Naval Forces, and many more. Additionally, many full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color.


NetLibrary E-books More than 27,000 eBooks are available for browsing, searching, and virtual check-out. TexShare's eBook collection includes titles from the world's leading business, technology, trade, reference, academic, and scholarly publishers. Search by title, author, keyword, publisher, publication date, or ISBN number.
Newspaper Source Provides selected full text for nearly 30 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
WorldCat (the OCLC online union catalog) The world's most comprehensive bibliography, with more than 58 million bibliographic records representing over 400 languages and all types of materials ranging from stone tablets to electronic books. WorldCat is updated daily and is now easier to search than ever. Recent enhancements include the ability to search by Library of Congress or Dewey Decimal Classification numbers, and to limit searches by material types, audiences and material formats. WorldCat includes information from before 1,000 BC to the present with thousands of records containing evaluative content such as tables of contents, cover art, book summaries and notes about the authors. It uses the Library of Congress Subject Headings as its thesaurus.