Fort Stockton Public Library

Loading palette preview Loading

Genealogy and History


Bibliography of Native North Americans Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. BNNA contains more than 80,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.
East Hill Cemetery, Pecos County, Texas  
Handbook of Texas The Handbook of Texas, provided by the Texas State Historical Association is a multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture. It comprises more than 23,000 articles on people, places, events, historical themes, institutions, and a host of other topic categories. The scope is broad and inclusive, designed to provide readers with concise, authoritative, and accessible articles that provide factual, nonpartisan accounts on virtually every aspect of Texas history and culture.
HeritageQuest Online Provides a unique and continuously expanding collection of research materials to help patrons trace their family lineage and American culture.
Beginning with more than 25,000 family and local histories, HeritageQuest Online is growing to include the complete U.S. Federal Census from 1790-1930, the Periodical Source Index (PERSI), the Revolutionary War Pension Applications & Bounty Land
Warrant Applications, and the Freedman's Bank Records. HeritageQuest Online provides many of most-requested resources for genealogists and local historians. This collection of digitized material is unlike anything else online today, and helps put family research in an historical, social and cultural context.
HeritageQuest Online was named “Best Reference Source (database)” by Library Journal magazine in the April 15, 2003 issue.
Old Fort Cemetery, Pecos Co., Fort Stockton, Texas  
Texas Digital Sanborn Maps (1867-1970) Digital access to more than 660,000 large-scale maps of over 12,000 American towns and cities. Founded in 1867 by D. A. Sanborn, the Sanborn Map Company was the primary American publisher of fire insurance maps for nearly 100 years. No maps are consulted more in academic and public libraries. Sanborn maps are valuable research tools for geographers, social historians, urban specialists, genealogists, planners, local historians, architects, environmentalists, and anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods. Users of Digital Sanborn Maps have the ability to manipulate the maps, magnify and zoom in on specific sections, and easily print them out. Each large-scale plan contains detailed property and land-use records that depict the grid of everyday life across a century of change. The maps provide a wealth of information, such as building outline, size and shape, construction materials, height, building use, windows and doors, street and sidewalk widths, boundaries, and more. The plans often include information and shading for steel beams or reinforced walls, plus symbols for stables, garages, warehouses, etc. Also depicted are pipelines, railroads, wells, water mains, dumps, and heavy machinery likely to affect the property's vulnerability to earthquake, fire, and flood. Maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, and house and block numbers.
Texas Historic Sites Atlas Features nearly 300,000 site records, including data on Official Texas Historical Markers and National Register of Historic Places properties in Texas. Also included are courthouses, museums, and sawmills across the state. You can search by Historic Designation, Keyword, County, Address, or Site Name to get instant access to detailed textual descriptions, historic photographs, and interactive maps to help you discover what makes Texas and your areas of interest unique.
Texas Reference Center Texas Reference Center is a Texas specific product designed specifically for school and public libraries. The database is comprised of periodicals, reference books, reports, and other content relevant to the state. Texas Reference Center contains 30 full text periodicals, 100 full text reference books, several Texas newspapers, and much more. Examples of titles offered include: Best in Texas, Texas Business Review,Texas Education Review, Texas Journal of Agriculture & Natural Resources, Texas Journal of Women & the Law, Texas Journal on Civil Liberties & Civil Rights, Texas Law Review, Texas Magazine, Texas Monthly, Texas Public Health Association Journal, Texas Review, Touchstone (Texas State Historical Association), and many more. EBSCO plans to increase the number of periodicals to more than 100, as well as add more than 100
reference books and several newspapers by 2007.
World History Collection Offers a global look at history with content from Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe and the Middle East. World History Collection contains cover-to-cover full text for nearly 150 titles, including many peer-reviewed journals. Full text dates as far back as 1964.